Directory | Events | City | District | Tourism | Articles | Home | Main Site

Bilaspur District - An Overview

In May 1998 the original Bilaspur District was divided into 3 districts...
  • Bilaspur (as we know it today)
  • Champa-Janjgir, and
  • Korba
Website of district administration:

Bilaspur District
Geographical Area 6377 Sq. Km
Latitude 21º37"N to 23º07"N
Longitude 81º12"E to 83º40"E
Mean Sea Level (MSL) 262 Metre
No. of Tehsils 8
Populated Villages 1616
No. of Gram Panchayats 864
No. of Block / Janpad Panchayats 10
Revenue Inspector Board 16
Patwari Halka 219
No. of Urban Centers (Towns) 15
District Headquarter Bilaspur City
District Collectorate Thakur Ram Singh IAS

The Government of Chhattisgarh has announced 9 new districts in Chhattisgarh on 15th August 2011.

  Census 2011 Census 2001
Population 26,62,077 19,93,042
Male 13,49,929 10,09,007
Female 13,12,149 9,84,035
0-6 age group 4,00,695 3,36,791

Representation in Lok Sabha
There is one constitutency in Bilaspur district, from where the people of Bilaspur are presented in the Lok Sabha.
Seat (Reservation) Sitting Member Party
Bilaspur (General) Dilip Singh Judeo BJP
The election of Dilip Singh Judeo to 15th Lok Sabha declared subsequent to the counting on 16-May-2009

Representation in Vidhan Sabha
There are 9 constituencies for the Vidhan Sabha in the Bilaspur District after state elections on 08-Dec-2008.
Constituency Res Sitting Member Party
Marwahi ST Ajit Jogi INC
Kota Dr. Renu Jogi INC
Lormi Dharamjeet Singh INC
Mungeli SC Punnulal Mohle BJP
Takhatpur Raju Singh BJP
Bilaspur  Amar Agrawal BJP
Bilha  Dharamlal Kaushik BJP
Masturi SC Dr. Krishnamurthy Bandhi BJP
Seepat Badridhar Diwan BJP

The district administration maintains a web-site for Bilaspur which can be seen at
Advertise with Us | Terms of Use | Top of Page | Home
Copyright © 2007 Data Spec. All rights reserved.
Site optimized for handheld devices