Current Events
News in Detail

Bilaspur District
District Administration
Major Towns
Panchayats & Villages
Apollo Hospitals
CIMS, Bilaspur
CG High Court
GGD University
Lafarge, Arasmeta
NTPC, Seepat
SEC Railway
SECL, Bilaspur

Who's Who
By Category
By Name
By Popularity

Articles for you
Your Queries

Indian Premier League - An Introduction

2008, marks the dawn of a new cricketing event in the country - Indian Premier League - IPL (Official Website).

The Indian Premier League

Early in the year we saw the who's who in India bidding for the franchise of 8 cricket teams. Mukesh Ambani, Shahrukh Khan, Vijay Mallya, Preity Zinta were among the successful bidders.

The bids for franchise of the teams grossed over Rs. 2800 crores, with Mukesh Ambani paying the maximum (over Rs. 440 crores) for Mumbai and Emerging Media paying the least (Rs. 268 crores) for Rajasthan.

Team Bidder Bid Value
1. Mumbai Mukesh Ambani (Reliance Industries) Rs.447.6 crore
2. Bangalore Dr. Vijay Mallya (UB Group) Rs.446.4 crore
3. Hyderabad (Deccan Chronicle) Rs.428 crore
4. Chennai (Indian Cements) Rs.364 crore
5. Delhi (GMR Holdings) Rs.336 crore
6. Punjab Preity Zinta et al Rs.304 crore
7. Kolkata Shahrukh Khan et al Rs.300.36 crore
8. Rajasthan (Emerging Media) Rs.268 crore

Then came the much publicized bidding for the players for each of the teams. The franchise owners bid in crores to get the right mix of players for their teams.

Captain of the Indian ODI and Test Match teams, Mahendra Singh Dhoni got the highest bid - Rs. 6 crores, followed by Australian cricketer Andrew Symonds who was taken for Rs. 5.4 crores

The eight teams are ready and their franchise owners have given them fancy names, got them fancy colors and dresses. 

Team Name of Team Official Websites
1. Mumbai Indians Website
2. Bangalore Royal Challengers Website
3. Hyderabad Deccan Chargers Website
4. Chennai Super Kings Website
5. Delhi Daredevils Website
6. Punjab Kings XI Website
7. Kolkata Knight Riders Website
8. Rajasthan Royals Website

Starting 18 April 2008, the eight teams competed one-another in a tournament that culminated on 1 June 2008. Long before the commencement of the tournament several thousand crore rupees had been put in for IPL, including the bid for television rights by Sony Television Network and title sponsorship by DLF.

The Finals of the DLF IPL 2008 tournament was won by Rajasthan Royals.

The Indian Premier League had an excellent opening year. It proved to be a mega-blockbuster event of the year so far wiping out all apprehensions that anybody had about its success. Since the end of the tournament, people are now missing the evening round session in front of the television.

The event has changed the way the country's most popular sport is regarded. It has changed the valuations of the players. 

Parents are now seriously contemplating on sports as a career for their children.

Google Search:

Copyright © 2007 Data Spec. All rights reserved.
Advertise with Us | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Credits | Top of Page | Home
Site optimized for 1024x768 on
Internet Explorer 8 and above